It was 3:00 am. I was awake in bed thinking about the state of the world. I shouldn’t do that. These days are looking like the days when I spent a lot of time worrying about all the bad things I was hearing on the news. Now it’s all the bad things I’m seeing on the Internet. This must stop! I must abandon my tendency to worry about stuff I cannot control. It will make me sick.
What can I control? I can control my thoughts. Well, sometimes it seems that I can’t control my thoughts. This is the crux of the problem.The world does sometimes seem awful, but my little world is not really that bad at all. I live in a safe community. I have money for food, clothing, a car, and a roof over my head. I have friends. The list goes on. Why is my focus so often drawn to the negative? I think fear does that. Fear is powerful. It makes us do awful things to others and to ourselves. If there’s one thing I need to abandon it’s fear. There’s the answer! I’ll just get on with abandoning fear. This might take some work.

